Star Wars! They’re sucking me back in! Nooooo……!

Some months ago I expressed extreme doubt about the new Star Wars film, Episode VII: The Force Awakens, in large measure because of the involvement of J. J. Abrams, against whom I harbor several filmic grudges. I am ready to admit, of course, that some of my antipathy may be defensive in nature, in that I don’t want to be hurt again by a lousy Star Wars sequel. My previous rant cannot be characterized as an objective assessment– oh, no, no, no….

But now here’s the new trailer for Episode VII–

Now, you really, really can’t judge a movie by its trailer. A minute and a half to two minutes of what’s often a film’s best bits, pasted together to sell the movie, rather than tell the story, can be a powerful and emotional experience. Plenty of movie trailers are actually better than the movies (Interstellar comes to mind).

Having said that, this trailer leaves me short of breath.

Storm Troopers and light-sabers, X-Wings and desert worlds, crashed Star Destroyers and, oh, man, the Millenium Falcon and Chewbacca and Han Solo. Somebody knows how to push my buttons.

Oh, and did I mention John Williams? Do I need to?

Grrr…I can feel myself getting sucked in. The old dream stirs, the old hope revives. Which means, at the very least, the trailer is doing its job.

I need to be strong, and not give in to the gibbering fan-boy within. I resolve to approach this film with caution, gather reviews, evaluate the situation. There will be no camping in line for opening night.

But…if it so happens, crow just might taste pretty good in this case….

We shall see.

5 thoughts on “Star Wars! They’re sucking me back in! Nooooo……!”

Leave a Reply

