Where has all the mojo gone?

Some of you may have noticed (or not) that in my last few posts I haven’t really mentioned much about my current work-in-progress, Princess of Fire. Partly I’ve been spending some of my time trying out flash-fiction, which is kind of a new thing for me. Mainly, however, it’s because I seem to be having serious mojo problems.

Mojonoun: that which allows you to do what you need to do when you need to do it.

(If that definition seems kinda redundant, at least it avoids any sexual connotations. Not going there….)

Since completing my taxes it seems as if the wind that originally filled my sails with Fire (that was actually an accidental double meaning, but I’ll go with it) has dwindled down to a fitful whisper. I’m doing a few hundred words a day, as opposed to about a thousand a day before. I’m above 75,000 words, but it took me about a week or so to get there from 72,000.

It may be that I have exhausted most of the pre-imagined material that has carried me this far. I may also be slowing because I’m facing more difficult core sections. I also am not wholly pleased with a lot of the material I’ve laid down.

On top of all this, there has been some serious chaos in the personal space for the last three weeks, quite aside from the continuing unemployment thingie. The details would bore everyone, and spewing on about them here wouldn’t solve anything. But it’s a banal truth that it is hard to write when you don’t have a certain level of peace and quiet.

At this point I am not sure how to get the mojo back, or even if it’s get-backable. I may have to revert to the level of production I saw while drafting Princess of Shadows. If I have about 40,000 words left (a total guess at this point) that would mean approximately eighty days of first draft still ahead of me. That would mean completing the first draft sometime in May, and about a year between the publication of Shadows and Fire. I could live with that.

And who knows– things might calm down, I might get a job, and maybe Alfonso Cuaron will show up at my front door with an offer to film my novels for a lot of money.

Well, everybody needs a dream….

2 thoughts on “Where has all the mojo gone?”

  1. So that’s what my problem is! My Mojo has up and left. Not in the writing sense, but the editing sense. I’m not happy with my final draft. My editor is, but I’m not. She wants me to send it to the publisher, but I’m hesitant. My novel was short listed and then a finalist in the Caleb Awards (Australian/New Zealand) in 2012 prior to it’s final edit. So why am I hesitant? Is it because I’m afraid of failure or because I’m a perfectionist? Maybe I should just forget about flash-fiction for a while and get stuck into it.

    1. I would suggest that if your editor is good and you trust him/her in general, I would launch. Since I’ve never had an editor, that’s a little hypothetical, so take it with a grain of salt. But you can’t hang on to a book just because it hasn’t achieved perfection– no book ever does.

      Good luck.

Leave a Reply

