Not my best day ever….

I’m back on the line edit for Princess of Shadows and have gotten past the halfway mark. Maybe– maybe– five or six more days editing, a few other adjustments, and then, just maybe, I can achieve that very-nearly mythical state called publication.

I should be pretty ecstatic about glimpsing the misty shore of that blessed land I have so long sought for this novel, but somehow I can’t quite get there at the moment. In the first place, despite the cuts I’ve made, I am still wrestling with a sense that the middle of this book is pretty mundane stuff. At this late date I am not entirely sure what do about it, or even if it’s a valid criticism– maybe it’s my exhaustion with the material. I kinda hope so.

The other thing dragging me down at the moment is that I went in for a job interview today and totally cratered. Look toward Seattle and see the towering pillar of smoke. The position sounded like one in which I could really contribute, but apparently they are looking for someone with a higher skill level than mine– an officer rather than a sergeant, so to speak. I know I cratered because the folks I interviewed with have already called the placement agency and told them “no, thanks”. Well, at least they didn’t keep me in suspense.

All I’m good for at the moment is to have some chocolate and go to bed. I’m going to go fill that prescription. Maybe tomorrow I won’t feel quite so sorry for myself. It also might be a good idea if I got some sleep.

Later.

2 thoughts on “Not my best day ever….”

    1. Thanks. At this point, I’ll settle for my readers not tossing the book over their shoulder out of boredom (which would be metaphorical, because it’s going to be an e-book, but you get the point).

Leave a Reply

