A short, very short, in fact, tiny, update

Princess of Shadows is now over 140,000 words. This is despite me continuing to doodle with both Dinosaur Planet and Princess of Fire. Fire, in particular, seems to be a story that is eager to be born. Among other things, I’m laying down some fun interactions between Kathy and her thug cousin Iron– gives me the opportunity to inject some Robert Burns into the narrative.

Getting Kathy through the Bleak sequence, but it seems pretty flat at the moment. I need this town to reek of coal-dust and despair, but at the moment its mostly Kathy wandering around complaining about being hungry. I just keep telling myself I’ll fix it in the second draft. I hope I can keep that promise.

Later.

2 thoughts on “A short, very short, in fact, tiny, update”

    1. At a guess (and that’s all it is) about 30,000 words (another month? Maybe?). That’s just based what I know I need to write to finish major scenes and close the gaps that exist between sections (I don’t write things in sequence– for example, I’ve already written the ending).
      The problem is that I’ve been saying “about 30,000 words” for the last month or more, so that’s not the best indicator of my progress. But I can tell you the gaps are shrinking. Obviously when the first draft is done my first tasks will be to rectify inconsistencies and cut, cut, cut.
      Thanks.

Leave a Reply

